The Village of Argyle, New York, in the Town of Argyle, is named after Argyll shire, Scotland (now Argyll and Bute, Scotland). Many of the original setters came from Scotland and settled here in the mid-1700s.
In the 1800s the Great Northern Turnpike extended from Lansingburgh to Rutland, Vermont. It crossed the Hoosick River at Buskirk, then known as Tioshoke, and proceeded north. It is said to have been routed through the West Hoosick area, crossing the river at Tioshoke and on to the old Stage Road. It continued along the Owl Kill Creek on its way to Rutland.
The Village of Cambridge was incorporated in 1866, combining the hamlets of Cambridge and North White Creek. About one-third of the Village is in the Town of Cambridge, and two-thirds in the town of White Creek.
The Village of Granville is nestled in the Mettowee River Valley, a gateway to both the Adirondack Mountains and the Lakes Region of Vermont. Rolling green hills and lush forests surround a charming village with so much to discover, making it an ideal place either to visit for a day or weekend, or stay for a lifetime.
The Town of Greenwich originally comprised parts of the Saratoga, Argyle and Campbell Patents, which were granted in 1684, 1764, and 1783, respectively. The ravages of the French and Indian Wars kept much of the area from being settled until after 1763.
In the spring of 1761, two men from Pelham, Mass., Joshua Conkey and James Turner, who had fought in the French and Indian War and had traversed the area selected the site of their future home. They returned to Pelham for the winter and when they came back the following spring they were accompanied by Hamilton McCollister. That year they each selected a site, cleared the land and built the first cabin for James Turner.